What To Do When Pain Shows Up Days After a Car Accident [Video]
A minor car accident might seem like more of an inconvenience than a serious problem. You have to deal with the insurance paperwork, file a police report, and miss work or social activities while everything gets cleaned up.
However, a few days after the accident, it could turn into a much bigger issue if you suddenly start to feel pain. This pain can quickly become unbearable and leave you confused about what to do.
We’re here to help. If you feel delayed pain after a car accident, here’s what you need to know and what you should do.
Delayed Pain After a Car Accident Is Common
It’s not uncommon for people to walk away from a car crash unscathed, only to start feeling pain a few hours or days later. Most people experience a wave a adrenaline when they are in an accident, which is a hormone that triggers the “fight-or-flight,” response.
Your heart races, your breathing quickens, and minor pains or problems are often overlooked.
Once your body starts to relax from the stress from the crash, you will likely feel the pain that you didn’t notice earlier. These pains can range from minor bumps and bruises to life-threatening issues.
Whiplash Causes Multiple Bodily Problems
One of the most common problems we see from car accidents is whiplash. When your body is “whipped” back and forth in a crash, it experiences small tears, damage, and spinal misalignments from the stress.
The whole body can feel pain for weeks after as it tries to get back to health after the crash. Unfortunately, many patients think they can push through whiplash, not realizing how series the injury is.
At Florida Wellness Medical Group, we work with car accident victims who sometimes come in weeks after the accident complaining of delayed pain. We work with patients to provide medical care, often with a chiropractic focus.
Without the use of prescription drugs, physical therapy and chiropractic care after a car accident can promote complete healing, long-term pain relief, and a return to a full range of motion. This helps drivers and passengers return to health and bring their lives back to where they were before the accident.
Seek Treatment Within 14 Days of the Accident
If you start to feel any pain — even minor discomfort — as a result of your car accident, head to the doctor immediately.
According to Florida Statute 627.736, car accident victims have 14-days to get checked for personal injury and report any medical problems as a result of the accident. Within the 14-days, your insurance policy must cover at least 80% of your auto-injury treatment.
Even if you think you’re okay, it is better to get checked out before the 14-day mark, or else you could have to pay for your treatment without the help of your insurance provider.
Learn More About After-Accident Care
For more information, watch Florida Wellness physician, Dr. Eddie Leonard talk with Great Day Live Tampa Bay about why it’s so important to get medical attention, even after a minor accident.
Get Care Today
If you were recently in a minor crash or have noticed delayed pain after a car accident, take steps today to improve your health. Schedule an appointment with Florida Wellness to get it checked out today.
Call us at 844-935-5669 or request an appointment today.