Physical therapy is one of the most effective treatment methods to recover after an injury. By focusing on restoring strength and function in injured tissues, physical therapy can quite literally give a patient back their quality of life after an accident or other traumatic event.
However, receiving care for injuries these days has become tricky. Hospitals are near capacity with COVID patients along with the regular stream of emergencies, so if your injury is not life-threatening, you’re likely to be discharged quickly. For people who are still in pain and dealing with loss of functioning, this can be very frustrating, since it’s not always clear where to go next. Many medical offices are also operating with a reduced capacity due to continuing COVID precautions, so getting an appointment with your primary care doctor quickly isn’t always possible.
Luckily, the laws here in the Sunshine State make it very easy for accident victims to start receiving care from a licensed physical therapist quickly. Read on to find out more about physical therapy and details on Florida’s Direct Access to Care law.
Physical therapists are licensed physicians trained in how the body is structured and how that structure promotes optimal functioning and health. Physical therapists will evaluate each patient and determine the best combination of techniques to restore their functioning back to where it was before the accident and injury.
Physical therapists have many techniques they may use during therapy, including:
If you’ve been injured in an accident, you may be dealing with multiple debilitating symptoms that severely compromise your daily functioning. Even for milder injuries, the constant nagging pain and attention that the injury requires can take a physical and mental toll. If you are experiencing any of the symptoms below after an accident, schedule an appointment with a physical therapist immediately:
Physical therapy can also improve outcomes after many conditions and illnesses, such as:
Come see the professionals at Florida Wellness Medical Center in Trinity for all of your physical therapy needs, no matter the cause.
Physical therapy is typically pain-free and very comfortable. However, since everyone perceives pain differently and this type of therapy requires the patient to use injured body parts to regain functioning, some discomfort or soreness may be experienced.
You do not need a referral to receive physical therapy after an accident in the state of Florida. As a “direct access to care” state, Florida allows individuals to seek physical therapy services without a physician’s approval or referral, as long as the therapy is not planned to last more than 30 days. For treatment plans longer than 30 days, an examination by a licensed physician is required.
If we believe that you will require physical therapy for longer than 30 days, we have physicians on-site that can provide the state-required examination and referral. If you already have a primary care physician, they can also provide this service for you.
In most cases, insurance does cover medically-necessary physical therapy services. If you were in an auto accident that resulted in injuries requiring physical therapy, you have 14 days to seek treatment for it to be covered by Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. If you were injured at work, your care will likely be covered under Workers Compensation insurance. If neither of these situations apply, your personal health insurance may cover part of the cost of your care. For patients who are uninsured, we offer self-pay plans with competitive rates. Please contact us at (844) 935-5669 for detailed information on the insurance plans we accept.